Women in Agriculture: Closing the Gender Gap in Tanzania

BLOG PHOTO

Following UN ambassador Emma Watson’s inspirational speech about gender equality, we felt it was a good time to share what we believe is a beautiful story and a great example of the UN’s HeForShe campaign put into action. This story comes from a rural Tanzanian village where Global Service Corps are currently working in partnership with Fintrac on a USAID funded, Feed the Future initiative called  TAPP-60. Essentially, the project aims to increase the income and health of smallholder farmers by providing sustainable agriculture and HIV/AIDS prevention and nutrition workshops to rural Tanzanian villages. Maternal health and malnutrition are serious issues facing women in Tanzania. In fact, two fifths of women are anaemic and one in ten women are undernourished (UNICEF). The TAPP-60 project aims to address these issues among others, but is also having success in addressing gender equality as can be seen in the following story from the field:

“First of all I’d like to say that I have really benefited from these gardens after receiving the knowledge from GSC. Firstly, I appreciate the convenience of the gardens, especially when I come home late at night like I did yesterday at 7:30pm, as I am able to easily get fresh vegetables to cook for my family. Secondly, I am able to make some money from the gardens so I can provide for my family. Thirdly, I enjoy the fact that the gardens are chemical-free.

There are seven people in my family and we have eaten countless times from the gardens. Global Service Corps kindly helped me to establish one garden and then, upon discovering the value in them, i established the remaining gardens on my own. My husband did not attend the trainings provided by GSC but he has since been inspired by me and as a result, decided to establish one more garden. Now, people are coming to see my gardens and they also ask me to help them to build gardens at their own homes. My tree nursery is also doing well and I am no longer worried about coming home late from the chamba (farm) or fetching fire woods to cook with, because i know that there is fresh food waiting for me at home.”

Mwanjaa H. Mawe Mairo Village Tanzania.

To get involved in this project, sign up for one of GSC’s service learning volunteer or study abroad programs here

Leave a Reply

