Breaking the Cycle of Poverty

Having now completed my volunteer assignment, I find I have developed a special place in my heart for Cambodia and its people. For anyone who has ever been to Cambodia, this is no surprise. The Cambodian people are unfailingly cheerful, warm and welcoming. Though it’s unlikely that I will ever return, for three weeks I had the honor and privilege of working with local people doing their best to give kids living in the worst slums of Phnom Penh a fighting chance to avoid child trafficking and to escape a deeply embedded cycle of poverty.

If my participation in a four-day health workshop made even a small difference in the lives of these children, then it was well worth the effort – for them and me. I know that I am much changed for the experience.

Doug H., Cambodia International Health Program

Leave a Reply

