Cultural Immersion in Cambodia

IMG_0387

Dealing with the politics of NGOs certainly gave me insight into the true culture and society of Cambodia rather than what others may see from the outside. Also, living with a family allowed me to see the daily habits and how some traditions have remained the same and as close to one’s heart as they were 1,000 years ago. By attending a Khmer wedding with a close friend from Licadho and the Khmer New Year celebrations with [in-country coordinator] Sophak, I was able to feel a sense of belonging. By attending other festivities such as International Women’s Day at Boeung Kak Lake, I was able to feel a sense of community.

I am also deeply grateful for the opportunities this program has given me and would not change this experience for the world. I feel like because of this program’s connections and reputation, I was able to be placed in such an influential field practicum. I feel privileged and honored to have had the experience that I did for the past four months, knowing that these connections will last a lifetime.

Nichole B., Service-Learning Semester in Cambodia

Learn about Global Service Corps’ volunteer abroad programs at our website here!

Leave a Reply

