Getting to Know Your Neighbors

vp-and-maasai-mama

I really enjoyed my week long village trainings. I enjoy being outside and that along with the staff and the villagers, really made my experience an unforgettable one. After every day of trainings I would try to get to know some of the people in the village in my own way with the help of some of the staff by laughing and trying to learn different things about each other together. This may not be for everyone but I enjoyed every minute I spent with each person even if we didn’t understand each other. I believe if everyone was immersed in these sorts of experiences like I was, they would truly benefit. I definitely felt sufficiently immersed [in the culture] and enjoyed every minute of my program. I think that because I developed personal relationships with many of the staff, it greatly helped how much I was able to take in Tanzania and truly appreciate the culture.

Brady C., Tanzania Integrated Program

Learn about Global Service Corps’ volunteer abroad programs at our website here!

Leave a Reply

