“There are few things in this world more satisfying than the influence you have on someone through teaching.”

When it was all said and done, I couldn’t have been more proud of my kids. They worked hard during the entire two weeks of camp and I loved them for it. By the end it was very difficult to say goodbye. On graduation day, I sounded our infamous class call – Tembo Tembo Tembo….quack quack quack – one last time to gather them all together before we departed. I encouraged them to continue working hard in school and in life and to always believe in their abilities. I also told them that they were all very special and would one day go on to do great things for their community and the world. I’m not sure how often they hear those words, but I hope they never forget them.

Despite the long hours of preparation, the sometimes long and draining days and the frustrations you may face along the way, there are few things in this world more satisfying than the influence you have on someone through teaching. I certainly have a long way to go before I can ever have as big of an impact on students as some of the great teachers I’ve had over the years, but I am certainly very thankful for the opportunities I’ve had. I will forever carry the memories from this experience and my kids with great fondness and gratitude.

Brian O., Tanzania HIV/AIDS Program

Want to learn more about our programs? Please click here to request more information.

Leave a Reply

