It’s funny what you miss the most…

Transportation is one thing that really sticks out to me, like riding on the dala dalas by myself (I felt so independent when I was able to start doing this!), riding over really bumpy terrain in the Land Cruiser (so ridiculous but fun in a weird way). I liked riding in the back of the pick-up truck, because you’re not allowed to do that in America. All the Maasai women would crowd into the bed of the truck, with bags of jewelry to sell, and we would just ride together.

Also, eating lunch in Tengeru with Mary in her concrete hut [is a great memory]. She spoke almost no English, and I was left alone with her for an hour after taking Swahili for only three days. That was the first time I really, really had to try to use my Swahili to communicate with someone, and I was really bad at it, but we were still able to talk, and that was really important to me.

Margie M., Tanzania Sustainable Agriculture Program

Leave a Reply

