Elders are Elders, Regardless of Nationality: A GSC Volunteer Gives His Blessing to Maasai Children

 

 

 

I wanted to remain in the village to play with the children. During my first visit the younger children would not come too close.  Believe it or not, I was one of only a handful of white people they had ever seen.  A couple of the older braver children approached me presenting the top of their heads to me.  Dismas quietly instructed me to place the palm of my hand on the head of each child as they approached.  In this way the children were showing respect for me as an elder.  Giving a blessing demonstrated to the children I meant no harm.  I found it enlightening to realize such a simple practice could have such a lasting impact.  I will remember this as long as I walk the earth.

-Russell P., Tanzania HIV/AIDS Program

2 responses to “Elders are Elders, Regardless of Nationality: A GSC Volunteer Gives His Blessing to Maasai Children

  1. This sounds like it was a really powerful experience! I have heard that respect is a huge part of their culture. I would love to get involved in something like this.

    Like

    • Hi Emily! Thank you for your comment. Global Service Corps is committed to not only our projects, but to the experience of our program participants. From adventure to learning to life-changing insight into the people of a new culture, volunteering with Global Service Corps offers unforgettable experiences in Tanzania, Cambodia and Thailand. Here is a link to request more information about our programs: http://globalservicecorps.org/site/request-info/
      We look forward to hearing from you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

